Driving on a Suspended License is define in Nevada as “any person who drives a motor vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access at a time when the person’s driver’s license has been cancelled, revoked or suspended.”
Many good drivers in Nevada have their licenses suspended at some point for various reasons, such as:
- getting a Nevada DUI conviction
- having 12 or more demerit points on their license
- allegedly failing to pay a traffic ticket or child support
- being found guilty of a graffiti violation
And minors may have their licenses suspended in Nevada for being truant or getting convicted of crimes related to firearms, alcohol and drugs.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES AND CAN I GET TIME FOR DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE?
The typical sentence for the misdemeanor of driving while your license is suspended in Nevada include the following:
- up to six months in jail and/or
- up to a $1,000 fine
- perhaps further license suspension or revocation
But if the license was suspended because of a Nevada DUI conviction, a Washoe County judge is required to impose at least 30 days of jail (or 60 days of home confinement) as well as a fine of $500 to $1,000.
EXPERIENCED DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Lee Hotchkin is one of Reno, Nevada’s most experienced defense lawyers. Your Nevada driver’s license may not be suspended unless the Nevada DMV or law enforcement makes an adequate effort to inform you about it. If Lee can show that authorities failed to give you proper notice of your license suspension, then your charges for driving under a suspended license should be dismissed.
When the DMV mailed you a letter about your suspended license to your last known address, the state assumes you have been properly notified after eight (8) days from the date of the mailing whether or not you actually receive the letter. And once the suspension period ends, you can’t then be convicted of violating NRS 483.560 even if you neglect to formally reinstate the license with the DMV.
If your license has been suspended in Nevada you are entitled to an administrative hearing at the DMV to contest the suspension. These proceedings are like “mini-trials” where your attorney may present evidence and cross-examine witnesses. Lee has successfully defended hundreds of past clients at these DMV hearing allowing them to keep their license, he may be able to do the same for you.
If you have been arrested for driving on a suspended license, you deserve an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help keep you out of jail and get your license back. Call Reno Nevada Law attorney Lee Hotchkin at (775) 786-5791 – it’s what we do!